ECOOP 2018
Sun 15 - Sat 21 July 2018 Amsterdam, Netherlands
co-located with ECOOP and ISSTA 2018

We are happy to announce prizes and awards for the 32nd edition of ECOOP!

The Junior Prize was awarded to Harry Xu for his significant contributions to different aspects of object-orientation due to a unique combination of technical strength and ambition to deliver effective object-oriented programming technologies for big data systems.

The Senior Prize is awarded to Lars Bak for his pioneering work in pointer-safe object-orientation. Lars was the lead implementor for a series of notable object-oriented systems: Beta, Self, Strongtalk, Java Hotspot, Resilient Smalltalk, and V8 Javascript. Few have done more than him to make object-orientation a significant factor in the wider world.

Check AITO's DN Prizes page to find out more!

The Distinguished Paper award goes to:
Defensive Points-To Analysis: Effective Soundness via Laziness
by Yannis Smaragdakis, George Kastrinis

The Distinguished Artifact award goes to:
ContextWorkflow: A Monadic DSL for Compensable and Interruptible Executions
by Hiroaki Inoue, Tomoyuki Aotani, Atsushi Igarashi

The ECOOP Test of Time award goes to:
Flexible Alias Protection
by James Noble, Jan Vitek, and John Potter

AITO Dahl-Nygaard Prize Nomination 2019

In 2004, AITO established an annual prize in the name of the Ole-Johan Dahl and Kristen Nygaard to honor their pioneering work. One prize is awarded to a junior researcher (who obtained their PhD degree up to 7 years before the award year), and one prize to a senior researcher. The junior researcher should have made a promising contributions to the field through a paper, a thesis, or a prototype implementation. The senior researcher should have made a significant long-term contributions to the field.

Nominations for the 2019 prize can be made by filling this form.